Free website check
ModuForge
Comparison

Your own website vs Checkatrade and Bark

Lead platforms and your own website are different ways of getting work. Checkatrade is a trade directory with monthly memberships; Bark sells leads using credits. Here's how they compare with having your own website, from what each business publishes.

Updated

How we compared

  • We used each business's own public pages: pricing, how it works and terms. Nothing from reviews, forums or hearsay.
  • Each row compares the same thing on both sides, such as the monthly price, a setup fee or a minimum term.
  • Every figure shows the date we checked it and links to the page it came from.
  • Where a business's public pages don't say, the row says Not stated. That isn't a guess either way.
  • Prices and terms change, so check the source before you decide. If something here is out of date, email us and we'll correct it.

Different tools for different jobs

A lead platform brings you customers who are searching on that platform. Your own website is where people who have already heard of you, from a search, a neighbour or your van, go to check you out and get in touch. Many trades use both.

Side by side

Our figures come from our live price list and our terms. Checkatrade's and Bark's are as each published them on the date shown.

Checked on . Each figure is as that business published it on that date, with a link to the page it came from; prices and terms can change, so check the source before you decide. Where a business's public pages don't say, the row says “Not stated”. Spotted something out of date? Email hello@modu-forge.co.uk and we'll correct it.

How you pay

ModuForge
A monthly package: Starter £35, Core £59, Plus £99 (source)
Checkatrade
Monthly membership: Free £0/month, Approved £30/month, Growth from £59/mo (source, checked )
Bark
Credits: a one-off fee to respond to each lead (source, checked )

Cost per lead

ModuForge
None: enquiries from your site cost nothing extra (source)
Checkatrade
Growth: a fixed monthly cost for the number of leads you choose each year (source, checked )
Bark
Varies by job; the credit cost is shown before you respond (source, checked )

Commission on work won

ModuForge
None (source)
Checkatrade
Not stated
Bark
No commission (source, checked )

Contract length

ModuForge
No minimum term and no notice period (source)
Checkatrade
Fixed Plan Memberships are for 12 months (source, checked )
Bark
Not stated

VAT

ModuForge
No VAT currently charged (source)
Checkatrade
Not stated
Bark
Not stated

Is a lead sent to other trades too

ModuForge
No: an enquiry from your site comes to you (source)
Checkatrade
Not stated
Bark
Not stated

A website you control

ModuForge
Yes: your own site on your own domain, yours to keep after 3 months (source)
Checkatrade
A business profile page on their directory (source, checked )
Bark
Not stated

How leads reach you

ModuForge
Customers find your site and enquire or book on it (source)
Checkatrade
Customers find your profile in their directory (source, checked )
Bark
They send you leads matching what you do (source, checked )

Which might suit you

  • A lead platform may suit you if

    you're starting out or moving area and need work coming in that you don't have to find yourself, and you can respond to leads quickly.

  • Your own website may suit you if

    most of your work comes from word of mouth, Google and repeat customers, and you want enquiries that cost nothing extra on a site you control.

Using both is common: a platform for new demand, your own site for everyone who looks you up. Whatever you choose, keep track of where each job came from and what it cost you to win.

Questions

Can I use a lead platform and have my own website?

Yes, and many trades do. Put your website address wherever the platform allows it, so customers who find you there can see more of your work.

Do you charge for enquiries from my website?

No. Enquiries and bookings from your own site cost nothing extra, however many come in, and we take no commission on work you win.

Are Checkatrade's prices with or without VAT?

Its pricing page didn't say when we checked, so that row says Not stated. Check its page for the current prices.

Does Bark take a commission?

On the date shown, Bark's pricing page said it charges no commission; you pay in credits to respond to a lead.

See your price

Pick a package, switch on the tools you want, and see the total before you commit to anything. No VAT currently charged.

Accessibility settings